Award ShowsMovies

2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards to Air This Sunday on Hollywood Suite in Canada

watch film independent spirit awards in canada 2022
watch film independent spirit awards in canada 2022

Hollywood Suite will once again be the exclusive Canadian home of the Film Independent Spirit Awards, taking place this Sunday, March 6 at 5 p.m. ET.

This year’s ceremony, now in its 37th year, will be hosted by reel-life and real-life super couple Nick Offerman (Pam & Tommy, Parks and Recreation) and Megan Mullally (Will & Grace) life from Santa Monica, California.

“We are sincerely excited to be hosting the 2022 Film Independent Spirit Awards. We hope to get a little rowdy, but it’ll mainly be legitimate cinematic discourse. Although, with two of us involved, it’s more likely to be intercourse. Either way, it’ll be legit,” said both Mullally and Offerman.

Check out the nominations below. Zola leads the film nominations with seven while Michael Greyeyes has been nominated in both film and television categories for his work in Wild Indian and Rutherford Falls.

Presenters for this year’s ceremony include Dianna Agron (Shiva Baby), Javier Barden (Being the Ricardos), Jennifer Beals (The Book of Boba Fett), Rosario Dawson (Dopesick), Daveed Diggs (Snowpiercer), Jay Duplass (The Chair), Mark Duplass (Language Lessons), Daisy Edgar-Jones (Fresh), Hannah Einbinder (Hacks), Bridget Everett (Somebody Somewhere), Andrew Garfield (Tick, Tick… Boom), Regina Hall (Nine Perfect Strangers), Lily James (Pam & Tommy), Marlee Matlin (CODA), Bob Odenkirk (Better Call Saul), Sam Richardson (The Afterparty), Rhea Seehorn (Better Call Saul), Sebastian Stan (Pam & Tommy), Sydney Sweeney (Euphoria), Taika Waititi (Our Flag Means Death), Michelle Yeoh (Everything Everywhere All At Once), and Chloé Zhao (Eternals).

Kristen Stewart (Spencer) will be serving as the Spirit Awards’ honorary chair and will also be presenting.

In anticipation for this year’s awards, Hollywood Suite will be airing past Spirit Award Best Feature winners with The Grifters (Friday, March 4 at 9 p.m. on HS90), Fargo (Saturday, March 5 at 9 p.m. on HS90), Rambling Rose (Saturday, March 5 at 10:40 p.m. on HS90), Silver Linings Playbook (Sunday, March 6 at 7:35 p.m. on HS00) and Brokeback Mountain (Sunday, March 6 at 11:25 p.m. on HS00).

The 37th Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees for Film

Best Feature

  • A Chiara
  • C’mon C’mon
  • The Lost Daughter
  • The Novice
  • Zola

Best Director

  • Janicza Bravo for Zola
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal for The Lost Daughter
  • Lauren Hadaway for The Novice
  • Mike Mills for C’mon C’mon
  • Ninja Thyberg for Pleasure

Best Male Lead

  • Clifton Collins Jr. as Jackson Silva in Jockey
  • Frankie Faison as Kenneth Chamberlain Sr. in The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain
  • Michael Greyeyes as Makwa in Wild Indian
  • Udo Kier as Pat Pitsenbarger in Swan Song
  • Simon Rex as Mikey Saber in Red Rocket

Best Female Lead

  • Isabele Fuhrman as Alex Dall in The Novice
  • Brittany S. Hall as Renesha Bell in Test Pattern
  • Patti Harrison as Anna in Together Together
  • Taylour Paige as Aziah “Zola” King in Zola
  • Kali Reis as Kaylee “K.O.” Uppashaw in Catch the Fair One

Best Supporting Male

  • Colman Domingo as Abegunde “X” Olawale in Zola
  • Meeko Gattuso as Pitt in Queen of Glory
  • Troy Kotsur as Frank Rossi in CODA
  • Will Patton as Adam in Sweet Thing
  • Chaske Spencer as Teddo in Wild Indian

Best Supporting Female

  • Jessie Buckley as Young Leda Caruso in The Lost Daughter
  • Amy Forsyth as Jamie Brill in The Novice
  • Ruth Negga as Clare Bellew in Passing
  • Revika Reustle as Joy in Pleasure
  • Suzanna Son as Strawberry in Red Rocket

Best Screenplay

  • Nikole Beckwith for Together Together
  • Janicza Bravo and Jeremy O. Harris for Zola
  • Maggie Gyllenhaal for The Lost Daughter
  • Mike Mills for C’mon C’mon
  • Todd Stephens for Swan Song

Best First Screenplay

  • Sheldon D. Brown and Matthew Fifer for Cicada
  • Lyle Mitchell Corbine, Jr. for Wild Indian
  • Shatara Michelle Ford for Test Pattern
  • Fran Kranz for Mass
  • Michael Sarnoski and Vanessa Block for Pig

Best First Feature

  • 7 Days
  • Holler
  • Queen of Glory
  • Test Pattern
  • Wild Indian

Best Documentary Feature

  • Ascension
  • Flee
  • In the Same Breath
  • Procession
  • Summer of Soul (… Or, When the Revolution Could Not Be Televised)

Best Cinematography

  • Ante and Matthew Chuang for Blue Bayou
  • Lol Crawley for The Humans
  • Tim Curtin for A Chiara
  • Eduard Grau for Passing
  • Ari Wegner for Zola

Best Editing

  • Alfonso Gonçalves for A Chiara
  • Ali Greer for The Nowhere Inn
  • Lauren Hadaway and Nathan Nugent for The Novice
  • Joi McMillion for Zola
  • Enrico Natale for The Killing of Kenneth Chamberlain

Best International Film

  • Compartment No. 6 (Estonia/Finland/Germany/Russia)
  • Drive My Car (Japan)
  • Parallel Mothers (Spain)
  • Pebbles (India)
  • Petite Maman (France)
  • Prayers for the Stolen (Mexico)

The 37th Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees for Television

Best New Scripted Series

  • Blindspotting (Starz)
  • It’s a Sin (Channel 4)
  • Reservation Dogs (FX on Hulu)
  • The Underground Railroad (Prime Video)
  • We Are Lady Parts (Channel 4)

Best Non-Scripted or Documentary Series

  • Black and Missing (HBO)
  • The Choe Show (FX)
  • The Lady and the Dale (HBO)
  • Nuclear Family (HBO)
  • Philly D.A. (PBS)

Best Male. Performance in a New Scripted Series

  • Olly Alexander as Ritchie Tozer in It’s a Sin
  • Murray Bartlett as Armond in The White Lotus
  • Michael Greyeyes as Terry Thomas in Rutherford Falls
  • Lee Jung-jae as Seong Gi-hun in Squid Games
  • Ashley Thomas as Henry Emory in Them: Covenant

Best Female Performance in a New Scripted Series

  • Deborah Ayorinde as Livia “Lucky” Emory in Them: Covenant
  • Jasmine Cephas Jones as Ashley Rose in Blindspotting
  • Thuso Mbedu as Cora Randall in The Underground Railroad
  • Jana Schmieding as Reagan Wells in Rutherford Falls
  • Anjana Vasan as Amina in We Are Lady Party

Best Ensemble Cast in a Scripted Series

  • Paulina Alexis, Funny Bone, Lane Factor, Devery Jacobs, Zahn McClaron, Lil Mike, Sarah Podemski, and D’Pharoah Woon-A-Tai in Reservation Dogs

Special Awards for the 37th Film Independent Spirit Award Nominees for Television

John Cassavettes Award

  • Cryptozoo
  • Jockey
  • Shiva Baby
  • Sweet Thing
  • This Is Not A War Story

Robert Altman Award

  • Mass

Producers Award

  • Brad Becker-Parton
  • Pin-Chun Liu
  • Lizzie Shapiro

Someone to Watch Award

  • Alex Camilleri for Luzzu
  • Gillian Wallace Horvat for I Black Society
  • Michael Sarnoski for Pig

Truer Than Fiction Award

  • Jessica Beshir for Faya Dayi
  • Debbie Lum for Try Harder!
  • Angelo Madsen Minax for North By Current

The 37th Film Independent Spirit Award airs Sunday, March 6 at 5 p.m. on Hollywood Suite.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Captcha: * Time limit is exhausted. Please reload the CAPTCHA.